Earn the Gold Application Lifecycle Management competency
By using this site you agree to the use of cookies for analytics, personalized content and ads.

Earn the Gold Application Lifecycle Management competency

When you achieve the Microsoft Gold Application Lifecycle Management (ALM) competency, you demonstrate greater value to your customers by showcasing best-in-class capabilities that have undergone a rigorous and auditable approval process. Here you’ll find the steps and requirements that can put you on your way to earning valuable competency benefits.

New requirements for the ALM competency ensure that partners possess the skills to meet modern customer needs. These requirements recognize the best partners: those capable of delivering
high-end ALM solutions and projects that leverage the best of the Microsoft Visual Studio 2012 development system.

These requirements are effective November 2012 for new Application Lifecycle Management partners. ALM partners who have their renewal date before May 31, 2013, will automatically be granted a one-year extension to comply with the new competency requirements. Partners who have their renewal date after May 31, 2013,must comply with the new requirements before their renewal date to keep their status as Active. 

Refer to the Application Lifecycle Management competency guide to stay up to date on changes to competency requirements and benefits. Review the changes, so you can ensure you will be in compliance by your next renewal date.

Get started

Competency requirements are designed to align closely with customer needs. The following information is a comprehensive listing of the requirements your company must fulfill to attain the Gold Application Lifecycle Management competency. If you need assistance, contact your Regional Service Center.

1. Pass the qualifying exams

Your company must employ or contract with four unique Microsoft Certified Professionals (MCPs) who have each passed:1

  • Exam 70-498: Delivering Continuous Value with Visual Studio Application Lifecycle Management

In addition, each MCP must pass one of the following exams:

  • Exam 70-496: Administering Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2012
  • Exam 70-512: TS: Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2010, Administration.

In addition, two of the four MCPs must pass the following Microsoft exam or hold one of the following industry-recognized credentials:

Resources and next steps:

  • Click the links in the preceding lists to learn what skills are measured.
  • Find training to help you prepare.
  • Register for an exam at Prometric.
  • Chat with an exam expert in real time and get answers to your questions.

2. Meet the revenue commitment

Microsoft Partner Network members with a gold competency must meet a minimum revenue commitment based on geography and competency.

Resources and next steps:

3. Pass the licensing overview assessment

The licensing overview assessment is the same for every competency that requires it.

Your company must employ or contract with one person who has passed the assessment (which then counts toward all gold competencies).

Resources and next steps:

4. Pass the sales specialist assessment

The sales and marketing assessment is tailored specifically to the Application Lifecycle Management competency.

Your company must employ or contract with two people in a sales or marketing role who have passed this assessment. The people who pass the sales and marketing assessment are also qualified for the Sales Specialist accreditation.

Resources and next steps:

5. Provide customer evidence

Customer references demonstrate your success at building and deploying solutions relevant to the Application Lifecycle Management competency. Approved references can be used toward earning or renewing a competency for up to two years.

Your company must submit five unique2 customer references3 that showcases the implementation, deployment, customization, or maintenance of an ALM solution using Visual Studio and Microsoft Visual Studio Team Foundation Server.

Each reference must feature a project that you have completed within the past 12 months and that can be verified with your customer.

Resources and next steps:

6. Gather customer feedback

Your company must use the Customer Satisfaction (CSAT) Index survey to measure performance and help drive customer satisfaction.

Resources and next steps:

7. Pay the gold competency fee

To complete your enrollment in the Gold Application Lifecycle Management competency, you must pay the gold competency fee.4

1Partner organizations can attain multiple gold competencies, and individual employees and contractors may take and pass multiple gold competency exams. However, if your organization employs or contracts with someone who holds multiple certifications, that person’s credentials will count toward only one gold competency.

2You may use customer references from your silver competency toward the corresponding gold competency. However, you cannot use the same reference to fulfill the requirements for more than one gold competency.

3After you have three references, your account administrator can assign them to your competency by clicking the Requirements and Assets menu and then clicking Create Customer References.

4The gold competency fee varies by geography. You must pay the gold competency fee one time per year—no matter how many competencies your organization has attained. If you attain a gold competency after first attaining a silver competency, then you pay only the difference between the two membership fees, unless you are within the 90-day renewal period, in which case the full membership fee is due.

    Next steps